Escher’s Distortion Grid Revisited

7 Jan

Image courtesy of Amazon.co.uk

I received this book for Christmas and it got me thinking about Esher’s distortion grid again.  It certainly sheds more light on the mathematics behind his fascinating art.

I haven’t measured anything in this beginning, but I do like the curvy lines.  I didn’t get the horizontal lines to match up either – any tips?

quilts 044

Linking with Judy’s Design Wall Monday at the beginning of the week and…

Nina-Marie Creations – Quilts, Art, …Whatever  – Off the Wall Friday at the end:)

Dianna

10 Responses to “Escher’s Distortion Grid Revisited”

  1. Barbara Harms Fiber Art January 7, 2013 at 10:55 am #

    I really like it. I think it adds a little something special with the tinest bit of offset. Hang that baby, it’s a winner!

  2. Leo January 7, 2013 at 11:36 am #

    Ohh I don’t think those lines need to match up – I mean noone knows if it’s intentional or not. And at some point you just ned to stop worrying and changeing. Just bind it in hmmm red and let it be. You could try out another one with planning and matching lines, or one with horizontal and vertical lines not matching .. I think with such a piece there are som many possibilites to change it, tweak it – so if you have the time and the patience try them out. It probably won’t be as much fun as doing the first one, but in the end I guess you will learn a lot, and then you can compare them, which you like best … like painters doing a study, lot’s of wonky mind-tricking grids.

  3. Chris January 7, 2013 at 7:32 pm #

    I think the lines are really interesting random rather than lined up.

  4. Judy in Michigan January 7, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

    I like it just the way it is! Bind it and put a sleeve in it so you can hang it – but that might not work because of the upper wave. Guess you could just pin it to the wall. Another idea is to bind it then stitch it to a stretched canvas. Paint the canvas the same color as your wall and stitch the quilt to it using white or invisible thread. I’ve done this before and it is quite stunning – like a museum piece. Good job with this – I love it!!

  5. cathybert January 11, 2013 at 7:14 pm #

    I want to say that I just LOVE it! Might like a teeny tiny pop of red. of course, I think red always makes everything better!

  6. Deborah OHare January 12, 2013 at 7:21 pm #

    Love black and white and love this!

  7. Nina-Marie January 14, 2013 at 12:32 am #

    ohhh this has a lot of possibilities – love it – love how some of them don’t line up – more interesting that way!

  8. Beth in MN January 14, 2013 at 5:45 pm #

    I think it is so much more interesting without the horizontal lines matching up. Can’t wait to see what you do with this.

  9. Sarah January 16, 2013 at 5:27 am #

    Well, like all the other comments, I will say it is pretty cool as is! That being said, if you did want the lines to line up, I think I would try marking the side of the vertical strip as you go so you could match it where it needed to be…Then the sides look like they would be uneven so you might have to leave a bit extra on the top and bottom to trim it after. What a great puzzle! I love the whole concept.

    • diannajessie January 16, 2013 at 9:57 am #

      Thanks Sarah, that’s a great bit of advice:)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

