Playing with Triangles

26 Jan

I’ve put my ‘Escher’s Distortion Grid Revisited‘ to the side for now, I’m running out of the colours I was using and am hoping to get the same, or similar in my next lot of dyeing.

In the meantime, this idea has been swimming around in my head for a few weeks.  I was wondering if putting different size triangles together might make up a bed quilt of sorts.  I thought I’d try it out with some of my scraps…

Triangles in a triangle

I think a whole quilt will look pretty good with irregular triangles as the only shape used.  I wondered if paper piecing the triangles would be better, maybe the points of each would be perfect and beautifully neat, but the thought of a whole bed quilt in Paper Piecing seems a bit over the top, (I can just see the reams of paper it would take for a full bed quilt).  Definitely work in progress.

Linking with Nina-Marie’s Off the Wall Friday

Creations by Nina-Marie
Happy Stitching.
Dianna
5 Responses to “Playing with Triangles”

  1. Charlotte January 26, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

    wow – that isn’t paper pieced? I am in awe of your points!

  2. glen in louisiana January 27, 2013 at 2:03 am #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, quiilts and dogs and looking at my Off the Wall post. And doors, watch out for those memory sucking doors! LOL

    glen: who loves that triangle of yours up there

  3. Nina-Marie January 28, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    I really do like where this is going – but gosh a lot of work! I love how the yellow adds a bit of spark to the block!

  4. Sherri D January 28, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

    I am working on a quilt that has tear-a-way on the back. It is a PITA to tear out! Paper pieced would give the crisp look, but oh my, the mess and tediousness of tearing out the papers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

