Wednesday Works…..in progress

30 Jan

I have two this week, the first I’ve been working on best part of this year and have found it quite a challenge.  In my ‘creative’ haste I don’t think I cut my curves to fit accurately so have spent lots of time trying to flatten out those pesky lumps that never seemed to go away and unpicking to try and rectify the problem.

quilts 044quilts 049

quilts 050

quilts 064

I created a great deal of off cuts to get those lumps and bumps out:

quilts 062

I think I’ve got to a level of flatness that I’m at least happy with:)

One more side to add over there on the right to make it all even, then I’ve got to work out how on earth to bind and quilt it.  I’m thinking pillow slip rather than the more traditional frame like binding, what do you think?

The other WIP is a triangle quilt- working with my scraps to create some triangles within triangles with the thought of making a bed quilt solely out of this shape.  Take a look over at this post at what’s been attempted so far.

Linking with WIP Wednesday over at Lee’s from Freshly Pieced.

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Thanks for stopping by.

Dianna

10 Responses to “Wednesday Works…..in progress”

  1. Melissa January 30, 2013 at 9:21 am #

    I think it’s really cool! I don’t know what you’re hoping to make from it, but you could always use bias binding, with more flexibility, and simply bind all the way around it. It does look like a lot of work, but what a cool design!

    • diannajessie January 30, 2013 at 9:52 am #

      That is the question. It started off just as an experiment and grew from there. I don’t have enough of the fabric I’ve used to make a full bed quilt, so its heading towards quite a large wall hanging, maybe:)

  2. Karen @ littlebirdiequilting January 30, 2013 at 11:47 am #

    That’s an unusual design- it really caught my eye over on WIP Freshly Pieced.

  3. Heather January 30, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

    I love the curves and the stained glass effect.

  4. Zafeira January 30, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

    This quilt looks really interesting!!!

  5. Cindy @ In A Stitch January 30, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

    Keep at it! You’re doing a great job. I think a wall hanging would be a fabulous idea. Very cool design.

  6. Meli January 30, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

    You are brave to do so many curves like that. It’s my quilting fear.

  7. momiji January 30, 2013 at 5:41 pm #

    What an original and exciting design–looking forward to seeing what comes next!

  8. Ramona January 31, 2013 at 12:06 am #

    I would love to know how you’re creating these. Very cool!

  9. Lucy January 31, 2013 at 3:32 am #

    wow! the wonky-ness is a really cool effect!

    lucy
    blog.crazyforpurple.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

