Triangles, Triangles and more Triangles

1 Feb

Every triangle I make seems to get bigger, no planning it that way – but they are still triangles and it’s fun to play with colours and this shape.  No curvy lines, just a ruler and rotary blade, which is a welcomed change for now.

Too much thinking got me cutting off some of the points to I stopped cutting my pieces into triangles before attaching them, rather I would give myself more than enough fabric to play with, a bit like when you paper piece.

Image

Then I add this rectangular shape and trim of excess fabric giving myself a quarter inch for those pretty little points.  This method works most of the time.

Image

Got four triangles so far, the bed quilt is growing steadily.

quilts 068

Linking with Nina-Marie @ Creations – Quilts, Art, Whatever…

Off the Wall Friday

Creations by Nina-Marie

Thanks for coming to visit,

Dianna

6 Responses to “Triangles, Triangles and more Triangles”

  1. Sylvia February 1, 2013 at 4:32 pm #

    I love sew and cut. Just random, go where your fabric takes you. I love this piece.

  2. Amanda February 1, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

    Oh, I really like how you put those together! I haven’t seen many random triangle quilts!

  3. Rosemary Rush February 1, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

    Your colours are lovely DJ . It is a great exercise to do ,trying to get the points where they should be . By the time you have finished this quilt you will be an expert. It is such a great idea. LOL
    MOM

  4. nadia February 1, 2013 at 11:19 pm #

    Your use of solids and your choice of colors make these blocks very pleasing. I also like traingles–so many possibilities. Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting.
    best from Tunisia,
    nadia

  5. Nina-Marie February 3, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

    wondering what this is going – love watching it progress!

  6. Kit Lang February 5, 2013 at 6:46 am #

    That’s going to be baautiful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

