Using Fusible Batting…

12 Feb

I’m still waiting patiently for my first lot of fusible batting which I plan to use on a bed quilt for the first time.  Reading your comments was a great indicator that lots of you haven’t used it before.  From what I have read on some blogs, shops and seen on ‘youtube’ it’s a fantastic alternative to pin or spray basting, the latter I have never done and the first is labour and pin intensive.

Hobbs Heirloom Fusible Cotton Batting Queen Wadding - 90in x 108in

Photo Courtesy of CottonPatch.co.uk

I’ve chosen Hobb’s fusible – purely because I know the name and it seemed the only available from the retailer I sometimes buy from also I found this great blog post by Jennifier’s Sometimes Creative Side -which swayed me into buying fusible batting for a bed sized quilt.

Here is another link singing the praises of Hobb’s fusible…

Has anyone ever used this batting and had good/bad experiences – please comment and share your experiences with any fusible batting – thank you:)

Dianna

6 Responses to “Using Fusible Batting…”

  1. 8machines February 12, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

    I used to buy some hobbs at Michaels. They carried queen and twin. Then I went with the non fusible. I think its time to go back because I like the 80/20 for a better loft. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

  2. snarkyquilter February 12, 2013 at 6:50 pm #

    I’ve used this brand of fusible batting for wall quilts without any problems. It didn’t gum up my needle and had a nice hand. One tip – if the batting separates from the other layers as you manipulate the whole package while doing the quilting, just iron it again to restick it.

    • diannajessie February 12, 2013 at 8:57 pm #

      Thanks for the tip, it will be good to try it, might just be the answer to NO PINS – which makes me feel quite excited.

  3. ags February 13, 2013 at 8:50 am #

    hope your batting comes today x

  4. Joyce Mitchell February 13, 2013 at 12:52 pm #

    I love Hobbs fusible batting. After I’ve pressed the top side, I flip it over and press it from the back side too. I can check for problems with the backing when I do this. And another thing I do is machine baste the very edges of the quilt all the way around. I find that the edges may come loose while I’m manipulating the quilt under the needle, so this helps a lot.

    • diannajessie February 13, 2013 at 6:10 pm #

      Thanks for all your tips, I am so looking forward to trying some out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

