Triangular Quilt with Fusible Batting Finished

20 Feb

Finished the quilt – so pleased, ignored all phone calls texts messages to get it done on Sunday.

quilts 076

Triangular Quilt

The fusible batting seemed to work pretty well, although I wasn’t manipulating my quilt too much under the needle as all I was doing was crossing diagonal lines to create more triangles on the quilt. I didn’t have any problems with the quilt sandwich slipping or coming apart, but I think the idea of securing the outer edge, and if you are wanting a bit more reassurance the odd pin around the quilt, is a good idea.  I didn’t feel the need for adding any pins in the centre of the quilt, only around the edge and enjoyed a pin free quilting experience.

The thing that got me on this quilt more was cutting the fabric on the bias with all those angles.  I found it difficult to get the quilt straight, each time I thought I’d squared the thing, I would measure again and found the fabric had bowed again. So I lost some inches around the quilt, Argh!!  I think, if  I had had enough white cotton fabric I might have added a border around the triangles. (In my rush to finish this one I got sold some poly cotton by my local fabric shop, asked if it was 100% cotton, shop owner said yes, got home – did the burn test – not impressed, more on that another time)

I’m glad I finished it ‘cos there were certainly a few times it almost ended up in the scrap bag.

Quilt Stats:

64″ by 70″

Hand Dyed Recycled Calico Fabric

White cotton Fabric

Recycled White Cotton Bed Sheet

Diagonal Lined Machine Quilted on Home Machine (Superior Thread…more on that later)

Thanks for coming to visit.

Linking with Judy@ patchwork times 

Dianna

7 Responses to “Triangular Quilt with Fusible Batting Finished”

  1. Charlotte February 20, 2013 at 11:09 am #

    it’s amazing! I’d love to see it in person :-D

  2. ags February 20, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    amazing work, Piece of Art rather…

  3. jennysquawk February 20, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    It’s beautiful. Did the quilt still bow out after it was quilted? I usually have the best results with biased piecesafter it was quilted

    • diannajessie March 1, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

      No, it held it’s shape much more once quilted, fortunately:)

  4. snarkyquilter February 20, 2013 at 3:26 pm #

    Love the end product – lots of movement and energy. I usually starch the heck out of fabric that will be cut on the bias before cutting it. It helps control the stretch a bit.

  5. janelightfoot February 20, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

    Wow! Amazing! I agree, my first impression was the movement that is going on, and so cheerful too.

  6. Julianne February 26, 2013 at 2:07 am #

    A amazing quilt, like a work of art. I love it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

