English Paper Piecing with Kids

24 Mar

Last week My Boy’s school had a maths and science week.  He asked me to come in and share some of the maths in Quilting.  I wasn’t convinced it was going to be easy to get 30 kids to do something patchworky – with my boy and the internet I spent a day preparing an English Paper Piecing (EPP) Class.

Challenges:

  • I thought making something the kids could use after might inspire them more – A Pentagon Ball
  • The Maths – tessellation of a pentagon, measuring roughly a quarter to a half inch around each of the 12 pentagons giving enough material to cover the shape with fabric for sewing purposes
  • Getting all the Nine Year Old Kids to concentrate long enough to get the project on it’s way
  • Helping them thread a needle and learn whip stitch real quick, eeek!!

After practising the day before with my boy I realised the first hurdle was actually to get him to cut enough fabric around each pentagon without it slipping all over the place and he was not that motivated to stitch the fabric to each shape.

quilts 108

So I took some advice and instead of stitching we used a paper gluestick (I guess fabric glue would be preferable) to keep the paper attached to the fabric

Indeed the project took longer than I thought maybe four hours from start to finish.

quilts 109

The class managed to get all their pieces stuck with glue and a few got onto sewing some of the pentagons together.

All in all we had fun, did something different from a normal maths lesson and thirty children and a teacher were introduced to EPP – How exciting:)

I’m hoping at least one or two of them will be motivated enough to finish the project at home and bring it into school to show the rest of the class.

quilts 110

4 Responses to “English Paper Piecing with Kids”

  1. janelightfoot March 24, 2013 at 3:00 pm #

    Fantastic! I bet it was fun, they could use them for juggling balls!

  2. Jenny Squawk March 24, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

    Great idea. I might just have to teach the kiddos in my daughter’s class. They’ve been doing a lot of sewing.

    • diannajessie March 24, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

      Go for it, the kids loved it and even though only a few started the sewing steps I’m sure they will remember the class well

  3. Rosemary Rush March 24, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

    DJ ,What an imaginative idea . I am sure that the kids loved it . Wish I had had a maths class doing that !! LOL Mom

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

