Packages to Get Excited About

21 Sep

I have recently received  two packages to get very excited about.  The first was recommended to me by a close friend.  I bought it off amazon.co.uk and have already had a good look through it.  The book is called:  Handmade Marketplace How to Sell Your Crafts Locally, Globally, and Online, By Kari Chapmin. A useful tool if you are new to business and I have found the internet section particularly good.  It is however written by an American so some of the tax related issues are for across the Atlantic.   

The next package arrived today and holds a lovely selection of Mexican oilcloth from Viva La Frida.co.uk.  For anyone who is interested this is a great site to pick up small oilcloth pieces and pieces cut to lengths.  I bought two lots one of warm colours and one of cool colours.  Enough to keep me busy for a while.  I do so love this oilcloth the finish on it is fabulous.

4 Responses to “Packages to Get Excited About”

  1. Jane (Groovy Pumpkin) September 21, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    Hi Dianna, the book looks really interesting – I may have to get a copy eventually!

    The fabrics look great too, looking forward to seeing what you make. What needles do you use on your sewing machine for this? I’ve never used it, but I’ve taken a book out from the library a couple of times now, which has some lovely things in all from oil cloth.

    Jane x

    • diannajessie September 21, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

      The needles are not so important, although I tend to use jeans or leather needles the most, as they seem stronger and less likely to break on the oilcloth. More importantly use a roller or teflon presser foot, or failing that some masking tape on the bottom of the presser foot to stop the oilcloth sticking. Also make your stitch length really long, I go for about 3.5 on my machine, have a play on yours. I have written some quite comprehensive notes in an earlier post in the category of ‘tips on sewing oilcloth’. It can be a bit tricky and my machine took a bit of a bashing in the beginning (had to take it in to replace the bobbin hook), it probably still does and I do wonder how good it is for it in the long run. Take a look at the ‘oilcloth addict link’ on my blogroll as there is a wealth of information there on how to sew with Mexican oilcloth. Let me know what you think. Dianna

  2. Jane (Groovy Pumpkin) September 22, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    Thanks for your help – I may have to get some oil cloth and have a go at tome point. I may have a look at the weekend. I’ll definitely have a look at your other posts too – I’m getting my tea ready so will do it when I have more time.

    Jane x

Leave a Reply

