Seven ways to use up scraps of material

15 Oct

I am a bit like my dad when it comes to throwing away things…I don’t like to.  It got me thinking about ways to use up scrap bits and pieces of material.

Patchwork

Appliqué

Crafting with Kids

Bag handles

Interfacing

Pockets

Card decorations

Inevitably I end up with loads, today I made some business cards and used some of my scraps of  oilcloth for the back of them, it looks quite sweet and themed then with the item being sold.  What do you do with your scraps?  Can you help add to the list?

Here are some of the projects I have been busy with this week.  A little person on the move and into my sewing things while my back was turned – business cards with funky backs – a new bag (already seen and sold!!) and a package I sent off.  I felt as excited sending this one as I feel when I receive one.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Responses to “Seven ways to use up scraps of material”

  1. Jane (Groovy Pumpkin) October 15, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    Hi Dianna, what a good idea for the business cards – I LOVE them!! Your little girlie is cute.

    My ‘scraps’ are in my wardrobe and hall cupboard – I haven’t made much so far and a lot of the material is from charity shop clothes – lovely patterns mainly – I just need to spend time using them to make something, then I’ll actually have some scraps left over!!

    Jane 😀

    • diannajessie October 16, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

      I know the feeling of getting great patterns on clothes from charity shops too. I have a bag which is slowly growing stored in my boiler cupboard!

  2. diannajessie October 16, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    Thanks, yes she is very cute, got her hands in me stuff!! cheeky too…

Leave a Reply

