A Celebration of Quilts from New Zealand

24 Jan

Again the magazine ‘Made in New Zealand II’ was given to me by my mum who features as one of the quilters in it, it was quite some time back.  I love the way each quilter interprets one topic.  Take a look at the on-line gallery of the Made in New Zealand II magazine, you are able to get a copy from New Zealand Quilter – I think??.   I must get myself into a bit more of this quilting, I think it might be quite addictive.  This is my Mum’s Quilt, there is a description of it in the magazine link above:

I have also been inspired by stain glass windows and stain glass in doors as I cycle up and down the hill taking my boy to school.  I have since looked up ‘stainglass’ style quilts to find people are doing this to perfection.  I need to find a good book and bury myself in a few new skills and techniques.  This looks like a good place to start from amazon:

It's Too Easy! Innovative Stained Glass Quilts It's Too Easy! Innovative Stained Glass Quilts

I have so much to learn!

Authentic Art Nouveau Stained Glass Designs in Full Colour (Dover Pictorial Archives)

Ah Yes and some Art Nouveaux for some more.

3 Responses to “A Celebration of Quilts from New Zealand”

  1. kaet January 25, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    Wow that quilt is gorgeous!

  2. judithhb March 15, 2011 at 6:11 am #

    I dont know anything about quilting but my sister in the States is an accomplished quilter. I came across your site because I was writing about books I am reading or have read and came across the series by Jennifer Chiaverini. I have shown your post as a recent article.

    • diannajessie April 9, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

      Thank you, I am learning more and more about quilting myself and am getting quite addicted to in the process!

Leave a Reply

