The Sewing Book – Alison Smith

9 Feb

I am becoming such a regular on amazon they are beginning to recommend all sorts of crafty books to me, hmm? They got me again today when the ‘top selling’ crafty books came through into my inbox.  This one caught my eye, as a self taught sewer with some help from my mum and a very simple course in sewing when I was twelve, I am still learning.  Some things I am doing now with making bags etc. are skills I have never encountered before, nor had the confidence to try because the few times I had it went horribly wrong and projects ended in the bin.  My confidence is growing and the fantastic people on blogs and craft sites have helped me along hugely.  This book might be good to add to my growing collection of sewing books.  Take a look at it on amazon, it has some good reviews too.  I am very tempted!  Review to follow.

The Sewing Book

2 Responses to “The Sewing Book – Alison Smith”

  1. kaet February 14, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    I really want to be able to sew properly, but amn’t there yet. I need a good book on the subject. (Although I need a machine and practice more!)

    • diannajessie February 15, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

      Yes, I love to sew, and the more I sit with my machine the more confident I feel. That’s not to say I don’t make lots of mistakes and find my mum’s voice in my head saying- ‘a stitch in time saves nine!’

Leave a Reply

