New Project In Oilcloth – How to Make a Kindle Cover – Tutorial

24 Mar

This was fun, I started and finished a new project today, and it kept me away from making any more card holders. The project was a request from a friend to make a Kindle holder, I thought I would try and write a tutorial about it.

YOU WILL NEED:

Roughly 53cm x 34cm of two colours/designs oilcloth

Roughly 46cm x34cm of Fleece

Cut out first fabric front 20cm long by 16cm wide

Back 33cm long by 16cm wide

Lining 23cm long by 16cm wide x 2

Top flap lining 4cm x 16cm (shape later)

1 x magnetic fastener or clip closure

HOW TO:

Sew front and back outside pieces together across the 16cm wide base and top stitch to finish.

Shape the top flap of the back piece and the lining into a curved shape.

Join the flap’s lining to the fleece (right sides together).

Measure the middle of the front outside and put the magnetic fastener in place.  Repeat on the flap’s lining for the opposing fastener.

Sew up the sides of the outside pieces and repeat for the sides of the fleece lining.

Leave the base of the lining open.

With the lining’s right side facing the right side of the outside oilcloth.Sew around top of the kindle cover joining the outer and the inner lining together.

Cut out small triangles around the curve of the flap.  Take care not to cut the stitches.  Turn the lining the right way round.

Sew up the base of the fleece lining.  Push into the outer bag and….top stitch the flap and…here it is:

Let me know what you think.  If there are any steps that are confusing or you need some help in the making of your own please contact me via e-mail.  Find contact details on the ‘About – Contact Us’ Page.  Thanks:)

3 Responses to “New Project In Oilcloth – How to Make a Kindle Cover – Tutorial”

  1. Ags March 24, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    I love the design and the snug way it protects the kindle, I call it a kindle sleeping bag or snuggly, great work DI!

  2. PengPeng March 25, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    I loveeeee your oil cloth. do you mind sharing with me where you got that from? i am into oil cloth big time too at the moment and have just completed three wallets and will definitely post it on my blog soon.

    have a happy friday.

    • diannajessie March 25, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

      I would love to see your wallets when you share them. I buy most of my oilcloth on-line, two of my favourite being – viva la frida and justwipe. Happy Sewing, and do post some of your fab creations.

Leave a Reply

