Gorgeous Little Oilcloth Backpack for Toddler

11 May

I do like it, so cute on my little ones back.  We have already packed it full of things to take out with us tomorrow.  I like the piping around the base, it seems to give the bag a stronger shape and it is just the right size for a toddler to hold by the handle or wear properly on their back – gorgeous.

8 Responses to “Gorgeous Little Oilcloth Backpack for Toddler”

  1. Ags May 11, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    Really lovely, I can see an order brewing

    • diannajessie May 11, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

      I love it, soo cute, I can’t wait for out little trip out with it tomorrow:)

  2. PengPeng May 12, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    lovely !!! love it love it love it. i will have to try piping soon !

    • diannajessie May 12, 2011 at 11:25 am #

      Thank you, we took it out this morning with lots of smiles:) The piping definitely adds a little extra something to the bag.

      • PengPeng May 12, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

        oooo nice…

        i was making a bag for my mum for a realllly belated mother’s day present (it’s May in malaysia, lol) and i started recreating the cath kidston day bag but i made the mistake of using slightly cheap vinyl fabric to sew it (very pretty though) and it had started to tear even while sewing it and while making the top for it i lost interest in it so had to start from scratch making her another handbag based on a pattern i bought from vogue and this time, i bought some proper expensive oilcloth from john lewis for it… i’m quite close to finishing the project and i can’t wait to get home tonight to continue with it !!! it’s so exciting when you get to that stage of the project where you are piecing the pieces together to see it ‘turn’ into something, isn’t it?

        wait for pictures on me blog !!

        ps: do you get your oilcloth in bulk from somewhere or just random places online? x

      • diannajessie May 13, 2011 at 10:27 am #

        I look forward to seeing your finished bag, yes it’s fab when your bag comes together and you can stand back to admire it, it gives me a real buzz.

        In terms of buying oilcloth, I know how you feel, it is extremely expensive per meter, my obsession with it led me to buying loads of it last year which cost a small fortune. I am still hoarding a few rolls of it, where ever I can stash it – such precious stuff. I was speaking to a friend who recommended waiting for the sales at places like John Lewis, or checking out some of your local fabric shops as well as looking online. I think I might do that the next time I need to feed my addiction further. Good luck:)

  3. PengPeng May 19, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    by the way, i’ve finished my bag and am immensely pleased with it 🙂

    i’m going to john lewis after work later with a colleague, and i don’t think i’m going to come out empty handed. HELP !! as it is the postage for sending the parcel home to my mum will cost me a bomb at the post office later, i don’t need more spending excuses 😛

    i’ve done my ‘little research’ on oilcloth and found that so far, perhaps ‘dottybrown’ is the cheapest, ‘justwipe’ is not bad either…

    love love your oilcloth items. keep them coming ! xx

    • diannajessie May 19, 2011 at 11:00 am #

      Thank you so much for the encouragement. I am looking forward to seeing your finished bag. Enjoy John Lewis, be sure to find their ‘scraps bin’. Lucky you!

Leave a Reply

