How to Make Piping for Bags

7 Jun

This is a great little trick and it can make a bag look really smart as well as holding the bag’s shape even more.  Choose what diameter you would like to make your piping and select the ‘inner piping’ for it.  I found some plastic garden tubing from the pound shop which does the trick perfectly for the diameter I like.

I read some where and think this a good tip – try to choose a diameter that balances with your bag, as sometimes if the piping is to thick it will over power the bag itself.

Another tip – if you want to make your piping feature strongly choose a contrasting bold colour for it.

Here is how I do it:

Loosely measure the fabric around the piping of choice.

Cut a strip of fabric to this measurement leaving roughly 1cm either side for sewing purposes (mine measured roughly 2.5cms altogether)

Cut the fabric to the length of piping you will need for your project.  I cut the inner piping longer than the fabric for leverage.

Put your zipper foot on the machine and cover the inner piping so the fabric lies evenly on either side.

Sew as close to the inner piping as you can (tip: use same colour thread as fabric, I didn’t and this can show if your bag sewing is not as close to the piping)

There it is……Piping ready for your bag making – tomorrow I will show you how I put the piping into my bag project.

2 Responses to “How to Make Piping for Bags”

  1. PengPeng June 8, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    Ooo thanks for sharing this. i can’t wait to try it out. it would make a nice feature on the bag won’t it? i wish i had two extra pair of hands so that i can be sewing two things at one time !!

    have you seen my blog post about my ‘new love’?

    xxx

    • diannajessie June 8, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

      Hi Peng Peng, thanks and yes I did see your post. The machine looks fab, so well looked after, I am sure you are going to be even more hooked. 🙂

Leave a Reply

