Bag Finished and A Tip for a Quilt Along

13 Jun

The bag is finished in the style my friend wanted.  She asked me to extend the handle length so that she can sling both over her buggy handles when out and about.  I think it looks good like this.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have also signed up for a quilt along (QAL) – I like the look of the quilt – it doesn’t look too complicated for a novice like me.  I am still scratching my head about a ‘two layer cake’ – can any one help me to understand this quilt terminology better?  OK – I have had a quick look over the internet, am I right in saying a layer cake is a block of coordinated fabrics which you buy together?  Hope so, because I need to get buying soon, my stash of fabric is mostly oilcloth.

synchronized squares quilt along button.

Here is the link to ps i quilt, a great quilting blog I found through the Sew Mama Sew Give Away.  There are prizes to be won with the QAL too.  All Lots of Fun!

5 Responses to “Bag Finished and A Tip for a Quilt Along”

  1. Rosemary Rush June 13, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    DJ my love. Saw your query about a 2 layered cake . Could it mean the top and backing fabrics (with the batting in between of course). Here there is term called a ‘quilt sandwich’ which means the top,back and the batting for filling .

    • diannajessie June 13, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

      I wondered if it meant fabric in 10″ pieces stacked together- still none the wiser though, thanks for that mum:)

  2. AGS June 14, 2011 at 4:46 am #

    the bag has a very V and A feel, that must have been one happy customer…

  3. Evelene Sterling June 14, 2011 at 5:34 am #

    I think what she meant is that you need to purchase 2 different layer cake bundles to make the quilt. I think she used one layer cake that was printed and one white layer cake. Hope this helps you out.

    • diannajessie June 14, 2011 at 6:42 am #

      Thanks Evelene, I think you are absolutely right….,I better get ordering quick – do you like to quilt?

Leave a Reply

