Layer Cakes Demystified and Oilcloth Phone Covers

14 Jun

I found out what a layer cake is – it is a packet/bundle of 40 10″squares of different fabrics from the same designer’s line often used in projects to help colour co-ordinate without the fuss.  The fabrics then are beautifully colour coded to look great on a quilt.  No need to figure it out yourself, I think this is possibly a good way to start out with quilting.  Since finding out  I have had a look at layer cakes from some on-line fabric shops, WOW, this habit could get just a little ittie bit expensive, hmmm, I am having to rethink the way I go about this a bit.  I also found a fabric shop in London that might be the answer, I will visit it tomorrow and post about it if it is a success.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now onto the important matter of Oilcloth Phone Covers – I have wanted to make one of these since I got a new phone  and didn’t want it to get totally scratched and lost in my bag. Also for a bit more protection when it is in my hands or rather falling out of them – this happens more often than I would like.  I love it and it fits my new phone just right.  I made a few different sizes.  These are easy to make and use and look great.  I took some up to school and already had four mum’s wanting one of their own.

Next I will put some in my folksy shop – soon soon I promise. If I have another minute or two spare over the next few days I will squeeze in a tutorial on how to make these.

5 Responses to “Layer Cakes Demystified and Oilcloth Phone Covers”

  1. Mum June 15, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    Submitted on 2011/06/14 at 8:51 pm
    Just what we need!

  2. Mum June 15, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    Submitted on 2011/06/14 at 8:50 pm
    We need two asap please for Rosemary and Kerry!

  3. Alex Howes June 15, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Hello! Thank you for my 2 new polka dot covers. I bought the bag with all the cases into school and three other friends bought one each!
    Look forward to more orders!
    Alex xxx

    • diannajessie June 15, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

      That’s brilliant:) Thank you so much for doing that, I will get making some more over the next few days….any colour suggestions?

Leave a Reply

