A Day out in London Town – Patchwork Fabric Dilemmas

15 Jun

I was so excited this morning.  I took myself, a willing friend and a happy toddler with me to go look and touch all the lovely fabric promised in this shop…. and there was more than enough to do just that, in fact so much so I had sensory over load and stumbled.  I couldn’t decide what I liked, wished I had my mum – my quilt guru with me – aaah, what to do.

We did have such fun looking at all the beautiful fabrics, the choice was huge! I bought some bits and they are very beautiful bits mind you – but doing my sums after handing over the hard cash, I think getting myself the two advised layer cakes for the ‘Quilt Along’ would have proved cheaper, as I definitely paid over the odds, here ends the first lesson in quilting for me – research fabrics and pricing well to avoid feeling taken advantage of.  Never mind, the fabrics are all ‘Liberty Prints’ and I know I will be happy with the quilt when finished.  Here is to a new collection of fabric beginning, oilcloth  I still like you but cotton I now like you too.  Hmm, now I just need a space to put it all!!

This is what I found:

4 Responses to “A Day out in London Town – Patchwork Fabric Dilemmas”

  1. Rosemary Rush June 16, 2011 at 6:38 am #

    Well ,my DJ, I can see that you are hooked!! Fabrics are wonderful to gaze at and touch aren’t they ? Give me some ideas as to what you like and what colours you prefer as I have heaps of fabric and can send some over .I would love to reduce my stash a bit . Dad and I can also bring some over in August .
    lots of love
    MOM.

    • diannajessie June 16, 2011 at 6:44 am #

      As my stash is only just beginning I would welcome any fabric you would like to send. The quilt I am working on is for the front room – we will talk colours over the weekend. X

  2. MagpiesLaundry June 18, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    mmmmm – beautiful selection of fabric you’ve got there 🙂 you’re going to have so much fun with your quilt!

    • diannajessie June 18, 2011 at 11:49 am #

      I hope so, I feel a bit daunted by the prospect.

Leave a Reply

