How to Make an Oilcloth Mobile Phone Cover

27 Jun

I love this little project.  Quick and Easy and you end up with a lovely cover for your phone:)

Cut out two pieces of oilcloth and two pieces of felt/fleece measuring approximately 3.5″ – 4″ by 6″ – 7.5″ or to the rough measurement of your phone, allowing for seams

Right sides together of one piece oilcloth and one piece felt – sew across one of the short ends

Fold over and with wrong sides together top stitch

Repeat with the other piece of oilcloth and felt

Now place the two sewn pieces wrong sides together, using straight stitch sew up the case leaving an opening at the top end (where previously stitched and top stitched)  I rounded the corners of the phone cover as I went.

Cut away excess fabric and put your phone inside, adjust if neccessary.

I made mine a snug fit to stop the phone falling out in my bag or when in my hand.

If anything is unclear, please feel free to e-mail me, or comment on this post:)

One Response to “How to Make an Oilcloth Mobile Phone Cover”

  1. Peng Peng June 27, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    What a lovely idea! I’ve got scraps of oilcloth just enough for this tiny project i think. My blackberry’s gonna get a facelift!! Xx

Leave a Reply

