Festival of Quilts – Birmingham – came and went – as has the month of August

28 Aug

Well almost the month of August!

I loved The Festival of Quilts, it was my first time there and who better to visit it with but my mum and aunt.  It definitely lives up to its reputation.  The two halls the festival covered were decked with large displays of any quilters who wanted to share their quilts.  The quality and quantity spoke volumes of how popular the event is and I was astounded at the standard of the textile artists work.  Beautiful.  Apologies for not having names, I shared a program and don’t have it now as a reference.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I can’t quite believe that it’s been two weeks since the event, nor that I haven’t written for a whole month, don’t time fly? So much has been packed into the school summer holidays for us, I have had little time for the computer and my beloved sewing machine (sigh).  This has been a good thing for me, having time away has been refreshing and given me time to reflect on the past year of blogging and sewing.

In the new and second year of this blog I would like to add some some different elements.  I’m keen to up my computer skills and learn some more about various programs to help me produce clear and exacting patterns of bags, wallets and a few surprises.  I am also thinking to introduce a few oilcloth and cotton patchwork kits and, of course, to continue to add some helpful tips and tutorials in between.

I feel I have learnt lots by talking with my mum and visiting the quilt festival put me in awe, I realise how many talented artists there are in quilting which in turn has given me huge inspiration.

In the meantime I have my first quilt to finish – I had a small lesson in free motion quilting, learnt how to put a quilt sandwich together as well as the binding to complete it, all thanks to having my mum around.  I cant wait to share some pic’s when it is done.

Until then, the last week of the school break looms and routine will return second week of September.

Thanks for reading and I will be chatting soon. x

Leave a Reply

