Quilt No. Two – Lessons Learned

18 Sep

WhooHoo!! Second quilt complete and ‘though I anticipated the quilt to be too over the top, I’m surprisingly happy with it.  My son is the ‘lucky one’ this time round.  It was an exercise in so many respects.  Before putting it into some semblance of order and sewing it together I was apprehensive that it would have no cohesion – all being a bit too mad.  In order to try and pull the blocks of the quilt together I quilted it width ways, with seams roughly one inch apart in cream thread.  This took lots of time but I quite like the finished effect.

The individual squares gave me good insight into just how meticulous quilters have to be to get neat and well matching seams.  The two most challenging blocks of all were the tumbling blocks and the triangular square with the thin orange and cream contrast.  Since doing these I’ve read up easier ways to do both in ‘The Quilting Bible’ , so I will definitely be practicing them again.

And the binding – hmm, I still need some help with this part of a quilt.  I’m sure at my local quilt group I will get some tips on making it better…… But, Aah but what a sense of achievement.  I am smiling, smiling smiling –

Oh, and the back in corresponding Batik

Happy sewing,

Dianna x

2 Responses to “Quilt No. Two – Lessons Learned”

  1. Anna September 19, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    They are both fabulous :O)

    • diannajessie September 19, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

      Thanks Anna, they were such fun to make, I can see me doing more;)

Leave a Reply

