Postage Stamp Place Mat and some in Oilcloth

11 Oct

I managed to find a deep red cotton for the backs of my place mats and got quilting and binding today.  I’m struggling to get my binding to look good and think I need some help.  The mitered corners are trickier than I thought and because the mat is small it’s more noticeably ‘not perfect’.  I also think this slightly patterned fabric doesn’t look good – so I think I’ll be changing it to a plain red instead.

 

I got fed up with it, so I got a little of my oilcloth out and made a little piece of postage stamp patchwork to see how it works – cute I think:)

Be back tomorrow with a final update on the place mats.

I’ll speak then.

Dianna

One Response to “Postage Stamp Place Mat and some in Oilcloth”

  1. Rosemary Rush October 11, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    DJ,
    You are right ,binding does not look so good on place mats . I suggest that you select a piece of fabric for the back, place it on the front of the place mat, right sides together and sew a 1/4 inch seam all the way around leaving a 10cm gap along the lower edge . Clip the corners and then turn the piece through the gap so that the right sides come out . Poke the corners so that they look sharp and then hand sew the gap together . You can then topstitch around . This will look much neater. Give it a try and if you have problems we could skype and I could talk you through it .
    Lots of love
    MOM

Leave a Reply

