One of MY Favorite Online Shops

17 Oct

The ‘cottonpatch‘ a Birmingham based business with a great online shop too has to be on the top of my list when looking for any type of quilting supplies.  A brochure comes through my door quarterly to temp me with luscious supplies, hard not to ignore.

Kaffe Fassets stripes got me this time – they are lovely,

Kaffe Fassett Stripes Header

and definitely beautifully co-ordinated to make up the lush Autumnal Quilt I had my eye on, on the front cover of the ‘Quilt Mag‘.

I also got a hold of a copy of the ‘Simple Quilts and Sewing Magazinetoday, fresh out in the news agents.  And… stripes feature once more on the cover.  There is a theme developing here and I love it!

I tried hard to use some of my uphostery fabric to make up some stripey triangle squares but really struggled to get a good finish.  The seams, even if attempted to iron them open were extremely bulky!  So I think stripes in cotton is going to be so much better.

I love the Simple Quilts and Sewing Magazine because it’s got lots of little projects in it as well as a few quilts.  In this issue there are quite a few yummy looking bags and cases to make, as well as a fleecy appliqued hat, placemats, some halloween and winter projects, a scarf and mitten set and other cute bits of clothing for kids.  Lots of fun indeed, more than enough to inspire, now all I need to do is get my stash and get busy.

One Response to “One of MY Favorite Online Shops”

  1. Rosemary Rush October 17, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    DJ ,
    Kaffe Fasset stripes are definitely yummy . I find that his fabrics all combine well but that other fabrics are difficult to use with his . See how you go .
    When I was at Te Puke last week I bought some braid which he has designed and I will need to use them in a quilt . You could probably see the braids on his website or on a site called ?renaissance …..?. He loves colour .

Leave a Reply

