One Place Mat Finished

19 Oct

and five to go – I started this with a red binding here and got so fed up with it that I put it away until today.  I got rid of the red binding – it really looked awful and put me off making up any of the others!  I made the new binding a whole lot thinner – 2″ wide unfolded.  And used green binding instead – now I feel like finishing the rest of the mats off.  Amazing what a difference in colour and thickness of the binding can make on the finished mat.

I still need to do a little work on neatening my binding up a bit more but all in all I feel pleased with it.

Now shall I do the rest….or make a table runner out of the other five??

What do you think?

2 Responses to “One Place Mat Finished”

  1. Rosemary Rush October 19, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    DJ
    That looks fabulous now . As you said , the colour and width of binding can make a huge difference to the end result. Generally if you have a small piece a thin binding looks far nicer. I noticed in Birmingham this year that even the large quilts were back to very narrow bindings ,which was the tradition some years ago.
    I would make a set of table mats because it will give you a lot for practice with the bindings and could be more useful . The super thing about a 1/4inch binding is that you can use your 1/4 inch foot and it goes so quickly . The other tip is when you are sewing the binding just pull VERY SLIGHTLY on the binding fabric and then it sits really firmly around the edge . If you pull it too much it doesnt look good ! Well its all practice.
    Happy sewing
    Love MOM

  2. AGS October 20, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    I very much like the theme on your mat and you are right the colour of the binding changed the whole thing, red was just not right, amazing, you are definitely having fun!

Leave a Reply

