Three Things I Want to Get Better At in 2012

9 Jan
  • Planning
  • Patience
  • Piecing

Each quilt I attempt I learn new things, and the one I am working on now is proving challenging.  I love the colours I’ve chosen and had an idea of what I wanted to do but it has turned into a bit of an improvisation –  so in future I need to plan better.

With the improvisation I end up spending hours deliberating on what to do next, then my patience runs thin – does any one else suffer this?

And although I can sew straight lines pretty well on my machine I am finding my lack of patchwork knowledge is a hinder when I’m piecing it together.

So, this year I’m going to always –

  • plan the whole project on paper first
  • attempt at finding some more patience – I know its somewhere inside
  • go to some quilting lessons

Have you thought of any things you would like to do better in 2012

Enjoy your week,

Dianna

4 Responses to “Three Things I Want to Get Better At in 2012”

  1. Rosemary Rush January 9, 2012 at 11:09 pm #

    DJ
    I also love the colours that you have chosen .
    It would be a good idea to have some lessons .It really does help . The frustration with patchwork is that unless you take time to work very accurately from the beginning stage ie the cutting everything you do thereafter becomes inaccurate . So each time you do a seam it must be 1/4 inch or 6mm exactly . Sometimes I sit and practice things without a project in mind and it is time well spent.
    My plan this year is to start a big cleanup of unwanted items . I started today downstairs by throwing away 2 boxfuls of old magazines and books .
    I have always needed to improve on the patience side of things as Dad will tell you . It makes me impetuous and then I make mistakes .
    As for piecing . Well I have always admired traditional quilters because my piecing is never 100% accurate. So maybe I need to work on that as well !!
    Whatever ….happy sewing!!! Your resolutions for 2012 are good ones .
    LOL
    MOM

  2. janelightfoot January 11, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    Your quilt is looking lovely. Planning is good but sometimes it’s good just to go for it! This book I’ve found useful for quilting ‘The Quilters Ultimate Visual Guide’ editor Ellen Pahl it covers everything to do with quilting and may help with the piecing. Good luck.

    • diannajessie January 11, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

      Thanks Jane, I shall look up this book it might give me a little more confidence:)

  3. AGS January 15, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    Di, What an exciting year in front of you, I think it must be so rewarding for you to look back and see all the great project from the last year! (YES!) but even more exciting must be thinking of the stuff to make and do in 2012, especially quilting lessons. Absolutely fantastic.

Leave a Reply

