Quilting Arts Magazine Review – December 2011 /January 2012 issue

2 Feb

Oh my, this takes quilting into another realm completely.

I picked up this magazine yesterday and the first page I found was an article about Sheila Framton-Cooper’s art quilts – her use of colours and her methods on how she puts her quilts together is something I relate to – she loves bold colours and likes to improvise her work with not much forward planning.  Please go to her website if you want to see some of her fabulous textile art works.

This quilt magazine has a great ‘new feature’ on keeping a sketchbook for textile artists which is going to be a regular part of the magazine – I like this idea – it is always helpful to see what others do in their design process.

I have been drawn to surface design and would love to do some in the future.  There is a good article on how to create layers within this type of design by Lynn Krawczyk.

There are other inspiring articles too, including – raw edge appliqué, free style free motion stitching and resist fabric painting – to mention only a few.

A wealth of information – and worth a look.

Thanks for stopping by.

Dianna 

5 Responses to “Quilting Arts Magazine Review – December 2011 /January 2012 issue”

  1. Rosemary Rush February 2, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

    DJ,
    I am delighted that you have discovered ‘Quilting Arts”.
    I think I have most of the copies of the mag for about the last 10 years. So when you visit you can enjoy!!
    LOL
    MOM

  2. Barbara Harms Fiber Art February 3, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

    I haven’t seen this one, but it sounds good. My only subs are Quilting Arts, and Machine Quilting [recommended by Karen McTavish, and we all have heard of her amazing quilting I think]. I’m going to check this one out ,cause art quilts are all I do, pretty much. Thanks!

    • diannajessie February 3, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

      A pleasure – I love your work too, I found you on etsy before now, and was happily reminded of you when writing this post:) I know I will be returning to your blog for the fantastic tips you have shared. Thank you, Dianna

      • Barbara Harms February 4, 2012 at 2:02 am #

        Thanks Dianna, I’ve got you in my favorites too.
        Barb

      • diannajessie February 4, 2012 at 10:35 am #

        Thank you Barbara, I feel honoured:)

Leave a Reply

