Ever thought of Quilting?

13 Feb

I have become slightly enthralled with quilting!  I love each bit of the journey that patchwork and quilting takes me on.  From choosing the colours, feeling the textures and slowly creating something beautiful.  It’s becoming my outlet, the place where I can escape to without having to think about all those daily little things – it’s addictive but it keeps me sane.

With this desire to learn more I’ve been gathering a wealth of knowledge through other peoples creative blogs.  Before actually taking the plunge into quilting I was absolutely sure that it was going to be too difficult to be successful in … but now that I am trying, even though I’m struggling through bits of it I am loving the process.

This interview on ‘terificreations blog’ with Rayna Gillman and Rayna’s blog gave me a bit more strength in my convictions that quilting doesn’t have to be perfect – there are many different ways to make a quilt.  And her attitude is relaxed and perhaps allows you, especially being a newby, to stop worrying about all the rules that seem to surround this textile art.  She also has a book out which looks brilliant…

CLICK ON BOOK TO ORDER A SIGNED COPY!!

Perhaps a good one to add to the library?

Dianna

6 Responses to “Ever thought of Quilting?”

  1. Laurie February 13, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

    I just started quilting last summer by taking a class at our local fabric shop. I made a lap quilt for our hospital. Now I am addicted, in a good way, to fabric and patterns. I, too, am looking at blogs and stores and saving things that catch my eye by using Pinterest. Right now I’m attempting a wall hanging, and I’ve taken it apart once … may be about to be twice. I just made a bid on some antique buttons with the idea that maybe they will add the texture the wall hanging needs.

    It is fun and inspiring and relaxing and a great escape, isn’t it?

    • diannajessie February 14, 2012 at 11:58 am #

      Your wall hanging sounds fascinating, I look forward to seeing it on your blog when you’ve finished it.

  2. Mike P. February 13, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

    Newbie here too… and lovin it!!!

  3. janelightfoot February 13, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

    It’s great to pick up tips from lots of sources but there’s no substitute for having a go and seeing what works for you. It’s great that you are enjoying the process I find often people don’t have a go because they are scared to make a mistake!

    • diannajessie February 14, 2012 at 11:53 am #

      absolutely, the first step for me was the hardest.

Leave a Reply

