Patchwork Backpack

3 Mar

I am pleased to be finished this project.  I love the look of it and hope that the person receiving it will do too.  I started this bag here where I prepared the pieces of upholstery fabric into some ‘free form patchwork’.  I quilted this piece onto some batting and then did all the straps, fittings, lining and closures (not in that order nor at one time).  Backpacks take me longer than other bags, the strap system is fiddly and the upholstery fabric did not always play nice.  This time I thought I would get extra fancy and try out the twist clasp on the front.  I almost lost the teeny tiny grub screws more than once so I was on the floor with a two year old trying to explain what I had lost, hmmm – but don’t it look smart?

I’ll be chatting soon.

Dianna

3 Responses to “Patchwork Backpack”

  1. Womancrafter March 4, 2012 at 9:13 am #

    a lovely backpack, you are very talented

  2. Rosemary Rush March 5, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    DJ ,
    I Like the back back . The shape is really nice . It can’t have been easy with your upholstery fabric to get it to ‘sit’ so nicely . Well done !
    LOL MOM

Leave a Reply

