Wonky Log Cabin Block

6 Mar

My Fabric Swap from the London Modern Quilt Guild (LMQG) is sooo Yummy .. Lovely colour co-ordinated Amy Butler fabric, I feel spoiled.

I made a wonky log cabin block out of this fabric – for the March challenge of the LMQG.  I searched up how to do this through google and Quilt Dad was my first stop when looking for a tutorial on ‘wonky Log Cabin Blocks’.  I looked no further.

Problem is – I’m not good at following patterns or instructions very carefully – me, I like jumping in with two feet and then realise the mistakes after…in this case my central square ended up not so central because my fabric strips for the log cabin weren’t uniform in measurement, doh!  Or maybe that’s the way it’s meant to be??  And some of the outside pieces might be a wee bit narrow.

 

Still looks good I think, and I have enough fabric to do some more, so some more will follow.

Do check out Quilt Dad for tutorial and (Amy’s)craftyshenanigans for full LMQG Challenge details:)

Happy Sewing:)

Dianna

7 Responses to “Wonky Log Cabin Block”

  1. craftywoman March 7, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    I would call that a happy accident, it’s lovely, got character, thanks for the links 😉

    • diannajessie March 7, 2012 at 10:04 am #

      A pleasure, these blocks are really fun to do, I can see them getting quite addictive!

  2. Shevvy March 7, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    The whole point is to make it wonky. It doesn’t matter where the centre is. I am a big fan of the fabric and your block is great.

    • diannajessie March 7, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

      Thanks;) the fabric is a dream to work with, I can feel a few more wonky log cabins coming out if it!

  3. AGS March 8, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    Love the colours on that wonky one, isn’t that the whole point that the centre is wonky too? Not sure what the rules are but it certainly looks fabulous.

  4. Charlotte March 12, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    that is really lovely! I must get on with making mine!

Leave a Reply

