Inspiration – Mexican Designs

8 Mar

I bought this fabric the other day, the designs and colours delighted me and got me thinking that the tiered diamond shapes would be simple and effective for a quilt block.

 

I pulled out some of my upholstery fabric to play with for the colours more than the weight and tried my luck – Hmm, needs a bit of work but the idea is there, I wanted to recreate the diamond shape but it’s not big enough to show the diamond off properly.

I started to look at lots of images and books on the net and found this dover book (copyright free) on Amazon for inspiration:

Pre-Columbian Mexican Designs (Dover Electronic Clip Art)

Perhaps a journey into Covent Garden’s Dover Bookshop soon is required?  If you live in London and haven’t yet been, it’s well worth a visit:)

Dianna

4 Responses to “Inspiration – Mexican Designs”

  1. alwaysquilting March 8, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    Hi Dianna, Love the mexican fabric, It certainly offers many design ideas. Jenny

    • diannajessie March 8, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

      Very much so: ) and the colour combinations are magic!

  2. 7cakes March 9, 2012 at 3:07 am #

    Cool! I’ve been anticipating making a “mexican” quilt =D I love your fabric

    • diannajessie March 9, 2012 at 10:03 am #

      A quilt with some of these designs would look stunning, I’m sure. I need some bold colours to get busy making!

Leave a Reply

