Stained Glass Effect in Quilts

23 Mar

Hi there, welcome to DiannaJessie – if you are looking for the quilting gallery blog hop party it’ s over here🙂  By the way it has put a big smile on my face when reading the comments for this give away – I chose a particularly hard question it seems and come to think of it I can’t come up with a single song answer either….

Blog Hop Party with Give-Aways

I went to my local Quilt Guild meeting and we learnt a method of hand sewing patchwork using the stained glass effect, it was fun and something I would like to do one day…I have a favourite door in mind…

Don’t you just love those roses?

Here is a book which looks like it might help too:

Simple Stained Glass Quilts

And quiltinspirationblogspot has a good post this effect with Denim…

LittleQuilts Blog has some great examples of some stained glass effect that was done in a class.

Have a happy weekend – hopefully the sun will keep shining for us through it, it certainly has been so lovely this week.

Dianna

6 Responses to “Stained Glass Effect in Quilts”

  1. Ria March 23, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    Stained glass patterns could be awesome to do as quilts. I’ve tried a couple of them as embroidery patterns before, and they’ve turned out pretty well. I’d love to see more stained-glass pattern art quilts!

    • diannajessie March 23, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

      They do look stunning, I must try a quilt using the effect, soon.

  2. janelightfoot March 24, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    I agree the roses are stunning and what a lovely thing to base a quilt on, looks very art nouveau, beautiful lines. Look forward to seeing it.

    • diannajessie March 24, 2012 at 9:21 am #

      Doesn’t it, I pass this house door everyday and it always catches my eye, I just have to work out how best to do this, perhaps a bit of appliqué on top of rectangular patchwork?

  3. jenyjenny March 24, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    Gorgeous! Great ideas!

    • diannajessie March 24, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

      🙂 thanks jenyjennny, I hope to get some time to start a project soon.

Leave a Reply

