Modern Quilt Guild’s Next Challenge

8 May

Okay – yes, I am very excited – the next modern quilt guild’s challenge set to be completed for the July meeting is….

To select a piece of artwork and with solid fabrics use it as inspiration for a piece – the piece can be anything from a bag to a wall hanging – as we please – OMG, the options are endless!!

And what a good excuse to be going into some galleries to look.  The Tate is most certainly my first port of call – at the moment there are some fantastic exhibitions – Picasso,

Damien Hurst

and ‘The Princess of Polka’- Yayoi Kusama.  Which one to choose, it would be lovely to see them all.

Another suggested exhibition by the guild was the Courtauld Gallery, where there is a Mondrian 11 Nicholson exhibition on at present.

Well, I know where I’m taking my little one on day trips over the next month or so,

Happy stitching and more,

Dianna

2 Responses to “Modern Quilt Guild’s Next Challenge”

  1. Shevvy May 8, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    I spent a lot of time on Tate online sunday – to a least narrow it down to an artist. I have chosen one, but still can’t decide on which work.

    • diannajessie May 8, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

      I Know, I think I will have to choose one too, otherwise it’s just going to be too much. I am leaning toward Picasso heavily although Yayoi Kusama looks fascinating:)

Leave a Reply

