Playing with Colour

3 Jun

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about colour and how to put a piece together that looks good with Hundertwasser as inspiration.

I love his use of bold colours and how they seem to make his work so playful and fun to look at.  Take this for example

‘Voyeurs De Jardin’ – Hundertwasser 1982

The colours are so bold and they look brilliant together.

With this in mind I tried my hand in creating the beginning of a possible piece with some of my upholstery fabric – the choice of this fabric was purely because of the gorgeous colours.

The colours are not so clear in the image, but I have learnt things already.

I like the idea of the almost triangular piecing to make a curve,

I tried Sharon Schamber’s circle method and it took me three times to get any where close – a challenge indeed.

But I’m pleased because I learnt something:)

Have a good week,

Dianna

4 Responses to “Playing with Colour”

  1. Charlotte June 3, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    that’s gorgeous!

  2. Mina June 8, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    That is a really cool inspiration piece. How did you find it? and what made you think to use is as inspiration?

    Just looking at it, gives me all kind of ideas….

    • diannajessie June 9, 2012 at 9:18 am #

      We have a challenge for our guild using solids and a piece of artwork for inspiration – so I chose Hundertwasser. I love his work – the colours he uses are so vibrant!

Leave a Reply

