Oilcloth Tote

17 Jul

My morning started with this on the table,

(I made the stripped patchwork a while back over here)

Today I made this oilcloth tote bag…

  

lined with blue gingham,

Thanks to some welcomed time without my littlest person around:)

Dianna

11 Responses to “Oilcloth Tote”

  1. pillowsalamode July 17, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    Everything you create makes me smile! 🙂 Could you write a post about some good sources for purchasing oilcloth online? My go-to fabric stores either have none or a very limited selection (all feminine designs, and I’d like to make some guys’ toiletry bags). I’d appreciate your help . . . thank you! 🙂

    • diannajessie July 17, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

      I absolutely will write a post on some of the shops I’ve used to buy oilcloth, thanks for the idea:)
      There are some good on-line shops here in the UK that sell great oilcloth, problem is it is expensive and heavy, so postage can be a real hit in the wallet. More about that in a post coming shortly.

      • pillowsalamode July 17, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

        Thank you! I really appreciate it! 🙂

  2. janelightfoot July 17, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    Love the colours in this one Dianna and also the shape. Do you sew the oil cloth with a leather needle?

    • diannajessie July 17, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

      I have used leather needles but mostly use the heaviest needle I can find for a domestic machine, the numbers escape me right now but I shall look tomorrow and let you know.

      • janelightfoot July 18, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

        Thanks. I’ve not sewn oil cloth but may give it a try sometime.

      • diannajessie July 18, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

        It’s quit e easy with a few tips. Be careful to put some masking tape on the bottom of your presser foot as the oilcloth can stick to it. I managed to damage my machine with out it. I bought a teflon foot to help, it’s well worth the money if you plan to sew with oilcloth regularly.

      • janelightfoot July 19, 2012 at 8:52 am #

        Many thanks for the tips. Have a good weekend.

  3. AGS July 18, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Blue gingham lining makes it so special. I like the polka dot pattern of the bag and that it is made into the stripped patchwork and equipped with the long striped handle. What a special effect!!!!

  4. skalabara July 19, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

    Like your bags. I have never worked with oilcloth, must try it.

Leave a Reply

