An alternative to pin basting your quilt

21 Jul

I went to my local quilt group last week and learnt about a ‘quilter’s’ basting gun – widely available, it seems.  I hadn’t heard of it before and have, for the few quilts I’ve made, always used quilter’s safety pins to baste with.

Like this…

I wish I had taken some photos of us basting a quilt using a basting gun.

It’s simple and your fingers don’t suffer those pins in the process.

Microstitch Basting Gun with 2400 Tacks (Black and White)

Courtesy of Cotton Patch

Cotton Patch amongst other on-line shops sell a variety of these, the gun pierces the fabric and shoots out tiny plastic ‘price tag’ fasteners which hold the three layers of your quilt together.  It was revelation to me, but perhaps I’m just slightly behind the times.  The only downside of it is having to snip all the little tags off, or it’s the perfect job when sitting in front of the telly watching your favourite show.

Maybe this will be the next purchase for my quilting box.

Do you have a favourite tool for quilting?

Dianna

4 Responses to “An alternative to pin basting your quilt”

  1. Charlotte July 21, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

    I have one of those, and I kind of like it apart from the fact that I have to baste on the floor and it is quite difficult to make sure that the needle pierces all the layers before you pull the trigger.

    • diannajessie July 21, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

      That’s what the ladies were saying at the meeting, someone had come up with a great idea of using a tennis racket under the quilt and on a table – my concern with this is getting your backing tight enough not to have wrinkles in it. But that’s how we did it and it seemed to work ok:)

  2. Kim Cassie July 21, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    I haven’t seen this before. If you use it to baste a quilt on a table, do you think it will damage the table? It almost looks like there is a pin or tack at the end of the gun.

    • diannajessie July 21, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

      There is a sharp needle at the end of the gun, this is what is used to push the tag through the layers. When we did this on the table at our meeting we used an old tennis racket between the quilt and table to hold the quilt off the table. This way the gun did not touch the table at all, it seemed to work really well, I hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

