London Modern Quilt Guild Meeting

5 Aug
Foundation Paper Piecing - For The Love of Sol...

Foundation Paper Piecing – For The Love of Solids Swap (Photo credit: Sarah @ pingsandneedles)

I absolutely love going to these meetings, it’s such fun!  There was lots to talk about and so many fantastic projects to see.    It fascinates me to see how differently we all interpret the challenges each month.  There’s always so much to learn, a month ago I had no idea what foundation piecing was, now I do – I think.  Nor did I have any idea what turn and sew appliqué was, Charlotte I’m gonna need some help!  There is so much to learn – love it!

Some exciting news, next meeting will be in Liberty London where they will present their new quilt line of fabrics – can’t wait.  And this month’s challenge includes a piece with a of choice in English Paper Piecing or Foundation Piecing.  I think I might have a go at the foundation piecing, I love the precise finish you can get.

Thanks to all the LGMQ members for sharing all their lovely things:)

I’ll be speaking soon.

Dianna

4 Responses to “London Modern Quilt Guild Meeting”

  1. Charlotte August 5, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

    it was lovely to see you and your AMAZING art inspired piece. I’d be happy to show you needle turn anytime 😀

    • diannajessie August 5, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

      Thanks:) My hand stitching needs lots of work!

  2. Kim August 6, 2012 at 1:51 am #

    Love the photo….would love to get a copy of a template for the paper piecing.

    • PingsAndNeedles (@pingsandneedles) August 8, 2012 at 8:30 am #

      Hi Kim, this was a quite haphazard template! LOL … I drew the pattern in pencil on squared paper, just in a notebook, and then I blew it up to size ginormous A3 on the photocopier.

      I went over the lines with a sharpie and a ruler to get a good black line and then I photocopied it again and tweaked about until I got the size I wanted. It took 2 bits of A3, which I just sellotaped together!

      Photocopy paper is quite thick, so I really scored the lines to get a good fold. It was meant to be a practice piece for the swap but it came out so well I left it at that!

Leave a Reply

