Optical Illusions in Quilting – Foundation Paper Piecing?

7 Aug

I think I just might have discovered my preferred method of piecing for the optical illusions book I bought a few months back.  I’ve been looking at all things with ‘foundation piecing’ on the net over the last few days and found Sarah from Pings and Needles who made a fantastic wacky triangular piece.  I loved it, it then got me thinking that perhaps this is the method to use in order to piece monochrome optical illusions with – it’s so neat and precise I am falling for it quickly.  I’m excited all over again,

I got my optical illusion book out and found this…

I might just give it a try. Yay:)

Happy Tuesday.

Dianna

2 Responses to “Optical Illusions in Quilting – Foundation Paper Piecing?”

  1. PingsAndNeedles (@pingsandneedles) August 8, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    You so should give this a go …perfect for optical illusions … I find Foundation piecing a bit daunting really, which is why I decided to dive straight in to something I thought was about as complex as I was ever going to want to go! I’d only done a teensy bit before (circle of geese) and got into a real knicker twist.

    I think it really helps if you sketch the template yourself (start by tracing it) several times just to get into the geometry of it .. There ‘s something in that muscle memory that helps when you get to the whole flip-it stitch it-unpick it- palaver, which can be confusing. I only had to unpick one piece in this which is unheard of for me.

    • diannajessie August 8, 2012 at 9:00 am #

      Thanks so much for all this fantastic advice – I haven’t done any paper piecing before either and so this is a first attempts for me to:) I think I love it already. The thing that is tricky is you can’t see what you’re sewing so that’s where I made a few mistakes.

Leave a Reply

