Appliqué Lesson No.1

16 Sep

To take my mind off my little one starting nursery tomorrow, I think I’m more nervous than she is, I tried a little appliqué project my mum sent me over here.

I’ve said before, I find this trickier than it first appears.  I followed the clear instructions….

and tried the triangles and square shapes.

Questions to be answered:

What is the best size stitch length and width for satin stitching, excluding the tapering at corners?

What foot does one recommend for this type if stitching.  I found it hard to see the corners with the foot I used.

Would you recommend a walking foot?

Next lesson will cover curves and corners – till then, enjoy your week.

Dianna

2 Responses to “Appliqué Lesson No.1”

  1. ags September 16, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    What a lovely project, I bet she will go skipping and will not even look back, best wishes

  2. janelightfoot September 16, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    I tend to use stitch width 3 for most satin stitch applique shapes, but it depends on the size of the shape to be appliqued. The problem with satin stitch applique is that when things get smaller or has tighter curves it disappears under the foot, I have an applique foot for my machine but it is still a problem, I think the clear plastic foot may help though. Good luck with your project I’m sure you will produce something beautiful as usual!

Leave a Reply

