How Do You Mark Your Quilts?

22 Sep

I so enjoy going to my local quilt group as there is always something new to learn.  This week we spoke about different ways to mark your quilts for both hand and machine quilting…

Here are just a few of the ideas that were brought to the table.

Invisible Markers

Washable Markers

Chalk Pens

Chalk

Pencil

Markers with Erasers

Washable Children’s Felt tips

Water Colour pencils

Quarter Inch Masking tape for straight lines

and one that really took my fancy –

The Dress makers carbon paper and tracing wheel! Take a look at Ruth O’ Leary’s blog for further explanation.  She also has other methods used for marking embroidery pieces mainly.  This Dress makers carbon paper looks really good for hand quilting even stitches, (if you use a ridged tracing wheel), and it rubs off pretty easily.

Take a look in The Cotton Patch Shop for lots of these products, although sadly the Dress Makers Carbon paper and Tracing Wheel are amiss.

How do you mark your quilts?  Or don’t you, I would love to know.

Enjoy your weekend,

Dianna

5 Responses to “How Do You Mark Your Quilts?”

  1. Charlotte September 22, 2012 at 10:11 am #

    I use one of those frixxion pens (that disappear when ironed) on light fabrics, and a chalk pencil on dark fabrics. Or I wing it 😉

  2. Rosemary Rush September 22, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    Hi DJ ,
    I very rarely mark my quilts as I have heard some bad stories about markers . However I use a chalk pencil called a “General” which I have purchased in the US on visits . I will send you a couple with my next parcel . However a number of quilters here are using the “Sewline ” make . It has an eraser but is also able to be washed or taken off with a damp cloth .
    We’ll speak again soon.
    LOL
    MOM

    • Teri Lucas Terificreations September 23, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

      If I have to mark them I use chalk pencils. I’m not a big fan of anything wet – even though I do like the FriXion pen as it comes off with heat and should be fine as long as the quilt is washed later. If the quilt isn’t going to be washed or blocked then it’s chalk all the way. Mostly I just freelance it.

  3. Barbara Harms September 26, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    Barbara Harms Fiber Art

  4. Barbara Harms September 26, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

    I usually don’t.Once in a while, if I want a very heirloom look or matching feathers on all 4 sides to match perfectly [ not possible ].I like the fredom of just going for it. But if I was doing a wholecloth quilt, like Karen McTavish does, marking and detailed planniing it would be e essential, but I havn’t done one so far. It’s tempting though.

Leave a Reply

