Fabric Dyeing – is there a right time to start?

7 Oct

I am inspired to try some hand dyeing, I’ve been reading all about the adventures of

Brenda Smith – Serendipity Patchwork & Quilting

She has been doing dyeing workshops over the past few days at the

Craft and sewing Show in Townsville Australia

I’ve also been researching the dye called procion mx, which seems to be the chosen dye for good results on natural fiber fabric, like 100% cotton.

There are quite a lot of youtube videos talking about methods of hand dyeing

 A good web page on it by Paula Burch

A great Book by Helen Deighan

Dyeing in Plastic Bags: No Mess, No Fuss, Just Great Colours

Photo Courtesy of Amazon.co.uk

And this Fabric Dyeing 101 webpage including an e-book recommended by Brenda Smith on her blog.

Does warmer weather help the dyeing process – if you dye, have you any tips to share – I would appreciate your thoughts.

Thank you,

Dianna

5 Responses to “Fabric Dyeing – is there a right time to start?”

  1. Barbara Harms Fiber Art October 7, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

    Dianna, I am thrilled you found all these great resources. I paint my fabrics,it’s close to dying. I set the goal to learn dying this summer,didn’t do it.So many fiber artists have wonderful resuts,Lisa Call Tracy McCabe,Frieda Anderson,oh the list goes on & on.But i need very very easy instructions to over come my fear & jump in & try it. I did an interview with Ann Johnson, she’s awesome, but way over head…sadly my slow little brain. Thank you,this looks easy. You always have the best info.

  2. kathy October 11, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    Dianna, I have been dyeing cloth since 2001. I have always been led to believe (from the experts) that one needs at least 70 degrees weather to get good procion mx dyed results. So I always made sure the water was warm, the weather (or heated garage) was warm, etc, etc. Ice and snow dyeing are now all the rage and after seeing those results, I just am not so sure if the warmth makes any difference! People are getting lovely results. (I have not had time yet to conduct my own experiments.) If you notice, procion mx dyes are called “cold water dyes”, which I always thought was a little strange.

    • diannajessie October 11, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

      Thanks for this Kathy. I shall get started with trying Procion dyes, and thanks for your great info:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dyeing to learn dyeing? Fabric ! « Asianartandquilts's Blog - October 8, 2012

    […] I want] but I always  feel I’m missing out on something. Well, Diannajessie’blog  https://diannajessie.wordpress.com/2012/10/07/fabric-dyeing-is-there-a-right-time-to-start/#comment-2… has the answer for you. She has gathered a whole list of references that will provide just the […]

Leave a Reply

