Ready for Quilting

9 Oct

I finished patching my back pack bag fabric this morning and managed to pin it for quilting too.

I always doubt at this stage – as the made up patchwork fabric never looks like it’s going to work.

Tomorrow I will quilt it and hopefully set about making it 3 dimensional.

Till then,

Dianna

7 Responses to “Ready for Quilting”

  1. Leo October 9, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    It really looks greatly mismatched … is that upholstery fabric or does it just look like it on the picture?

    • diannajessie October 9, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

      Yes, It’s upholstery fabric:) Thick, but I’ve made a few bags with it before and the finished piece looks good:)

  2. janelightfoot October 9, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    It looks great, piecing upholstery fabric is so much harder! Love the textures it creates.

    • diannajessie October 9, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

      Thanks Jane, Hopefully tomorrow more progress will be made – it always looks better when in it’s intended 3-D shape. I also like what the upholstery fabric does in texture:)

  3. Life in Pieces October 10, 2012 at 12:44 am #

    Thanks for linking up with the 15 minute challenge.

  4. Marianne Bos October 10, 2012 at 2:48 am #

    Hi Dianna , Nice to see you use some thicker fabrics for this piece as it will give it more texture. I see you are interested in dyeing, I use procion dyes and find them great. I bought the book “Fabric Dyer’s Dictionery” by LInda Johansen and this has all the recipies in it for all the colours, but you can always have fun experimenting on your own! Maybe try some rusted fabrics too (also a heap of fun) Regards Marianne

    • diannajessie October 10, 2012 at 9:05 am #

      Thank you Marianne for this great info – I’ve been deliberating which book to buy and will certainly check out Linda Johansen’s. I look forward to sharing some of my adventures into it:)

Leave a Reply

