Inspiring Quilt Artist and a note on Circles

20 Oct

I got looking at some quilt artists and found Caryl Bryer Fallert, she has done some stunning quilts please browse her website.  The link above will take you to one of her pieces with circles, my favourite.  It got me thinking about them again –

I tried my hand using Sharon Schamber’s method of piec-li-que.  Unfortunately it looks like the free tutorial on circles she had on her site is now gone, so I went with what I remembered on looking at it a gazillion times but never got round to trying out really properly until now, apart from here.

Not perfect, but a reasonable attempt at this method.

Tallgrass Prairie Studio blog offers a great semi-circle tutorial and I found another method through

Mrs. Schmenkman Quilts.

I do like  circles but it’s tricky to get them perfect.

Do you know of any great templates for these I found even cutting out a perfect circle challenging – probably just me – I  would love to hear any tips from your circle adventures.

Dianna

2 Responses to “Inspiring Quilt Artist and a note on Circles”

  1. Charlotte October 20, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    I usually draw around a plate, but find that I inevitably end up with a pointy corner or something! Yours look great!

  2. Barbara Harms Fiber Art November 25, 2012 at 2:52 am #

    Quilt Sense sells a great little set called Stack of Circles.There are 5 cut circle templates from 2″ to 6,” it was developed by Marti Michell http://www.quiltsensebymarti.com

Leave a Reply

