Blogger’s Quilt Festival::Fall

31 Oct

I’m really excited to enter my most favourite quilt made to date into Amy’s Creative Side – blogger’s quilt Festival.

Thank you Amy for organising this event – it’s great to be able to share work with others across the world on-line.

This quilt was made earlier in the year as a challenge for the London Modern Quilt Guild which started in June 2012 and I shared it with the guild at our August Meeting. I’ve added a bit more of the story in this post here😉

The challenge was to take a piece of art and use it as inspiration to make something.  I knew that a Hundertwasser piece would be great to work with.  His use of colour is amazing and for some a bit controversial? His paintings are quite unique to him.  There are lots of great images of his paintings on-line, take a look to get an idea.  He also has an interesting underlying ideology that influenced his artwork and architecture.

  

I chose Oakshott Fabric, the colours are so rich.  I also used a book I had on Hundertwasser to help inspire including one of his paintings in particular.  I loved this project from start to finish and am itching to do another arty quilt soon.

Finished quilt measures : approximately 38″ wide by 29″ long

Special techniques used : piecing, some free motion quilting
Quilted by : DiannaJessie
Best Category : Art Quilt, Wall Hanging

Thanks for coming to visit.

Dianna

19 Responses to “Blogger’s Quilt Festival::Fall”

  1. Cherilyn October 31, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

    Wow! What an amazing quilt! I love art quilts but haven’t been brave enough to try one yet. I like the idea to quilt a painting. Great job!

  2. Marianne October 31, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

    This is absolutely stunning!!

  3. citricsugar October 31, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    What an exciting piece! Thanks for sharing this one.

  4. diane stanley October 31, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

    this is so cool

  5. Sydney October 31, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

    That is absolutely incredible! Wish I could have seen this in person!

  6. Suzann November 1, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    Thank you for sharing this wonderful piece with us and for introducing me to the artist who inspired you.

  7. Sylvia November 1, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    Wonderful! I really enjoy looking at this piece!

  8. Pattilou November 1, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

    This quilt is amazing! Love how it has come together with such clarity.

  9. Sheila November 2, 2012 at 12:36 am #

    Great job.

  10. birdiequilts November 2, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    This quilt really caught my eye in the list of quilts on the Blogger’s Quilt r Festival.

  11. Carla November 2, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    I followed you back to your quilt. Wow, I love it. I really want to try an art quilt. The piecing is fabulous. Beautiful job!

  12. Ellie Q November 3, 2012 at 3:39 am #

    Beautiful! That must have been so much fun to make!

  13. felicity November 3, 2012 at 5:13 am #

    I absolutely adore this quilt! Thanks for sharing and happy BQF!

  14. Camilla November 3, 2012 at 7:28 am #

    I really like this- well done!

  15. Linda Kucera November 3, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    Wow, this quilt really catches the eye, and evokes many associations! Well done!

  16. artdoesmatter November 4, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    This quilt is fabulous! And I can’t possibly love your choice of artist any more than I do. Having visited Hundertwasser’s House in Vienna many years back, I’ve always loved his sense of color and design, and I can really see how his architecture has influenced your lovely quilt. Really enjoying your blog, Diannajessie, very much.

    • diannajessie November 12, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

      Thanks so much for your compliments:) Hundertwasser is a firm favourite with me too – I am green with envy you have visited his house. One day maybe:)

  17. shannon c. November 5, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

    This is gorgeous, I love the color choice! I’m not familiar with the artist, but your interpretation is stunning. I’ll have to look up more!

  18. ags November 6, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    The most talented person I know! i am so hoping you will win xxxx

Leave a Reply

