Dyeing to show you

11 Nov

A few days ago I got to get out all my dyeing things.

Helen Deighan’s book to hand, having read much of it many times before I had a day to myself to get experimenting.

I chose to stay with primary colours and differed the fabric from the Prepared for Dyeing cotton to varying weights of calico.

The dyeing itself went smoothly what took  more time and lots of water was the rinsing off of the extra dye to make the fabrics wash safe.  All in all the process took three days!!  More than I had first expected.  But the results were good if not a bit surprising.

I feel happy with them all – next time I’ll start mixing the colours to get a wider colour palette to play with.

‘Till the next time.

Dianna

9 Responses to “Dyeing to show you”

  1. Carla November 11, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    You did it. Don’t you love it? Looks like you have great results.

    • diannajessie November 11, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

      absolutely – I couldn’t wait to see the results, I am already hooked and thinking how to mix my next colours. So satisfying:)

  2. Aye for Artist November 11, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    I just put together a studio for myself and I can’t wait to get dyeing!!! To help with the washing, you should soak your fabric for about 20 minutes prior to continuing the rinsing process.I’ve found it really helps. What type of dye are you using?

    • diannajessie November 12, 2012 at 9:26 am #

      Procion dyes seem to to be the talk – good dyes great results – better than high street ones, and in the quilt world the ones which dyers seem to be using:) Great to hear you are getting your studio ready – Have fun.

  3. Rosemary Rush November 11, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    Wonderful !!
    LOL
    MOM

  4. Barbara Harms Fiber Art November 13, 2012 at 8:59 am #

    You did it!! Good for you! I keep thinking I should try it. But the excuse that I make to myself is that for most of my art quilts, I’m doing silk painting, applique and thread work. The paint I’m using is permanent and often referred to as dye, but it gives me the control I need ,which I don’t think dye could. Excuses, excuses!.

    • diannajessie November 13, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

      I completely understand what you mean by ‘more control’ some of the dyeing colours came out different to what I expected – but I really like the alchemy of it and today I started mixing some primary colours together and cant’t wait to see the outcome:) It is fun to do, with less bother, but more water than I thought.

  5. ags November 13, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

    love the colours and it looks like the sky is the limit for you now, Di.

  6. Barbara Harms Fiber Art November 14, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    Well,keep sharing us your impressions & -Barb what you’re picking up, we can learn vicariously through you-barb

Leave a Reply

