A Year in Reflection

31 Dec

On the eve of a new year I thought I’d jot down a few highlights in my crafty year….

My year started off by making my third bed quilt, and getting myself completely hooked on quilting.

Quilt Sandwich

Finished a few upholstery back packs for friends.

Patchwork BackpackPieced Back PackUpholstery Back PackBackpack - Ta Da

I joined the London Modern Quilt Guild met talented people from the London Quilt Community. I learnt loads through some of the challenges set, and had the privilege of going to Liberty’s London for a talk from a fabric designer for a new line of quilt fabrics.

Crazy Quilt BlockFoundation Pieced Five Point StarApril LMQG Challenge Block

Hundertwasser inspired quilt

'Wacky Triangle Design'London Modern Quilt Guild ChallengeEnglish Paper piecingAndy Warhol Inspired Mo' Block

Liberty's LMQG day 002

I carried on with some oilcloth bags and cases

Oilcloth Patchwork ToteOilcloth Shoulder BagBlack and White Oilcloth BagOilcloth Tennis Racquet CoverBlue Polka Dot Bag

made some cute appliquéd aprons

Appliquéd Apron with BondawebAppliquéd Apron with Bondaweb

Liberty Cup Cake ApronsApron Z

Learnt some great techniques from my mother, local quilt guild and on-line

Curved Piecing in Upholstery FabricFaux ChenilleFree Motion Quilting

Circleappliqué lesson

Learnt how to dye my own fabric

Fabric and Procion Dye kit

Marcia Derse

Drew inspiration from things around me

Stained Glass Front Doorquilts 026

have some more quilts in progress of finishing…

Quilt in Progress

quilts 037

It’s been a fantastic creative year.

Thank you to all who read and enjoy my blog:)

Looking forward to the next with more challenges and learning to be done and shared with you.

Happy New Year.

Dianna

and

Lily's Quilts

7 Responses to “A Year in Reflection”

  1. ags December 31, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    Great idea to go through your highlights of your year. What an impressive list! Feels like it has been an amazing and prolific 2012! Many happy returns,

  2. Charlotte December 31, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    so glad to have met you – your use of colour and eye for design are inspiring!

  3. Colette Moscrop December 31, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    What a busy year you’ve had! Happy New Year to you and your family, x x

  4. Julia January 1, 2013 at 4:52 pm #

    I hopped over here from Lily’s Quilts. I really like your fresh modern quilts. They really are works of art!

  5. Mary Emmens January 1, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

    What a year – you have learnt a lot, how exciting. Best wishes for 2013

  6. Sarah-Lou January 2, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    Looks like a great year with lots of fab work – well done! I especially like the London quilt 😀

  7. Sandra Kaye January 3, 2013 at 1:06 am #

    Really LOVE the multi colored backpacks!!! Thanks for stopping by my blog!! Happy New Year!!!

Leave a Reply

