It’s Growing…

14 Jan

My take on the curves of Escher’s distortion grid has grown into some colour.  I like the way the black and the waves play on my eyes.  It’s fun to see how it changes just by adding colour or changing the orientation of the lines as I sew.

Image

I’m not sure where to next, so it sits on my design wall for me to ponder.

Until I feel ready to continue with it, I got my dyes out.  Looking forward to seeing results…

Image

Be speaking soon.

Linking with Judy @ Patchwork Times – Design Wall Monday

Dianna

11 Responses to “It’s Growing…”

  1. Lori in South Dakota January 14, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    Ahh–you’re an ARTIST! How do you get your quilt to lie flat? QUILT THE CRAP OUT OF IT!! Yes–I had one that had “boobs”–each block was a perfect cone shape. all 30 of them!! Here is the link to a picture–yes–they did quilt flat–with a little forcing.

    http://dakotacityquilter.blogspot.com/2008/06/saturday-fun-day.html

    Loved the mask wall hanging!

    • diannajessie January 14, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

      Thanks Lori, Will give this a try, cos most of mine dont:)

  2. ags January 14, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

    wow this is seriusly 3D, absolutely amazing with this blue xx

  3. Jill S. January 14, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

    Your distortion grid is awesome! With the red and blue added to black and white, it reminds me of a wonky Mondrian painting. So Escher meets Mondrian!

    • diannajessie January 14, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

      Absolutely, I thought exactly the same about Mondrian. I then went onto google images to see if Mondrian ever got wonky with his grids:)

  4. Rhonda January 14, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

    Very interesting project. I love the movement of the quilt. I’ve never heard of Escher. Is it a design or pattern that can be purchased??

    • diannajessie January 14, 2013 at 3:26 pm #

      Look up Escher in Google images – he was an artist but liked to use grids to distort and change his images, Fantastically mind bending.

  5. Chris January 14, 2013 at 3:21 pm #

    I love the touch of blue in there. Nice work.

  6. Beth in MN January 14, 2013 at 5:50 pm #

    Your project is progressing nicely. I agree that the blue added a nice touch of color to your composition. You are inspiring me to get going on some of my more contemporary projects that have been sitting on the sidelines..

    • diannajessie January 14, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

      Thanks Beth:) It’s such fun playing with colour…

  7. mycreativecorner3 January 14, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

    Looking great, love the addition of color for added punch. Nice job!

Leave a Reply

