Concentric Circle Practice

1 Mar

I got to thinking that the templates for the drunkards path could be made into complete circles using the same overlap method of half an inch, so I made some full circle templates the same way, used some water soluble basting glue, and made some of these.  Not all measurements added up to make the concentric circles even, but I had some fun any way. The basting glue really helps when doing these full circles.  I ended up not liking the individual colour combinations of these concentric circles, so ended up quartering them and sewing them together….in which case the drunkards path template would have been perfect….hmm, a dog chasing its own tail springs to mind;)

quilts 088

quilts 092

I’m a little closer to where I want to go with the London Underground quilt.   More on that next time.

Linking with Nina-Marie’s Off The Wall Fridays

Dianna

6 Responses to “Concentric Circle Practice”

  1. Nina-Marie March 1, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

    wow Dianna – can you say Kandinsky? Its funny if you look at his work and where his circles took him – they took you to the same place! can’t wait to see them in mass – not to mention your London underground!

    • diannajessie March 1, 2013 at 1:09 pm #

      You’re absolutely can Nina, I was just looking at his concentric circles for some colour inspiration whilst making mine….it’s such fun working with simple shapes, I really enjoy the dramatic effects one can create.

  2. snarkyquilter March 1, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

    I see what you mean about the colors in your full circles, but they look much better when mixed all together. And if you made their edges not meet even more they would be delightfully insouciant. A teacher once told me that if your seams aren’t going to meet, it’s better to have them off by a lot so it looks deliberate.

    • diannajessie March 1, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

      I agree on the seams mismatching, and I’m still not happy with the colours….thinking I need to get some more dye powders mixed up and at the ready to get a little brightness going:)

  3. Nancy Bowron (@NancyBowronArt) March 1, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

    Kandinsky indeed! Quite nifty : )

  4. ThreadTime March 1, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

    I’m really enjoying your journey with this quilt! I would say I can’t wait till I see the finished quilt, but really, the process is so much fun.

Leave a Reply

