Fused Art Quilts – for a good measure of procrastination

28 Mar

Yes, there has been quite a bit of procrastinating the week.  Taking my mind of the 150 years challenge quilt to do something quilty without the maths.  I was doing a paper collage with my daughter and it reminded me of the Bethan Ash book I reviewed here and the american version  of the same book many moons ago.

It got me thinking how fun it would be to do something entirely fused with lots of quilting.

quilts 122

Not sure this one works – but it was fun.  Perhaps more cohesion and overlapping with the fabric would be more effective.  This is a tiny 12″ by 12″ for practise and learning purposes.

Today I got busy with the back of the 150 years challenge quilt.  It seemed a shame after many hours spent making up the numbers 15o, not to use at least one of them somewhere.

quilts 102

So I did…

quilts 120

for the back

Next up – basting and quilting.

Linking with Nina-Marie’s Off the Wall Fridays

Creations by Nina-Marie

Thanks for reading:)

Dianna

9 Responses to “Fused Art Quilts – for a good measure of procrastination”

  1. Barbara Harms Fiber Art March 28, 2013 at 11:18 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your progress on this beautiful quilt, It’s been so much fun watching
    and following your design choices..

  2. nadia March 29, 2013 at 10:23 am #

    This is just so cool–LUV the shapes, colors and especially the machine stitching. This exudes energy!
    best, nadia

  3. meta March 29, 2013 at 11:31 am #

    Very colourful!

  4. Heather P March 29, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

    Love it — great shapes and great energy!

  5. lyndabloombakecreate March 29, 2013 at 2:26 pm #

    Love your shapes and stitching. Wow!

  6. quilthexle March 29, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

    A fun quilt – love it ! Very interesting for my eye is the upper right corner, where there’s less quilting, because it contrasts with the areas with dense quilting.

  7. Sylvia March 29, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

    I like the way the fused bits float around!

  8. Susan Lenz March 30, 2013 at 5:33 pm #

    Thanks for the common on my blog post. I’ve enjoyed your post as well … especially the variegated thread! Great work!
    Susan

  9. Nina-Marie March 31, 2013 at 11:23 am #

    I’m always a little surprise at how many people like to see backs to quilts – I think its a great idea to bring the theme to the back because I know that people will like the surprise of seeing it there.

Leave a Reply

