Judy Coates Perez – Creative Alchemist

31 Mar

Quilting done…

London Underground 150 Years Challenge Quilt

I’ve been talking to my mum about how to finish my challenge quilt.  One of the ways she suggested was to have no binding to distract from the quilt itself.  It seems that quite a few art quilters are using a way of creating a borderless quilt.  Mum suggested Judy Coates Perez, until now I had not heard of her, but do look at her blog and work it is stunning.  I also found that Brenda Gael Smith has a  tutorial on a faced quilt and Melody Johnson for a pillow slip method.

So I’ve got a bit to think about.

Hope you are all enjoying a good long weekend.

Dianna

3 Responses to “Judy Coates Perez – Creative Alchemist”

  1. knitnkwilt April 1, 2013 at 6:51 am #

    I totally agree that you should avoid binding the quilt! Glad you found some directions.

  2. Charlotte April 1, 2013 at 9:18 am #

    yes, that’s a great idea! It really is so amazing. I look forward to seeing it!

  3. jennysquawk April 1, 2013 at 2:29 pm #

    Yup, just do a facing. It’s easy. Promise. My favorite has these odd little triangles which really turn the corners out.

Leave a Reply

