Melody Johnson On Dyeing the Lazy Way

14 Nov
fabric colors

fabric colors (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve just been reading a post by Melody Johnson on the way she dyes her fabrics.  It’s a must read for another take on the process.  It’s also great to realise that there are so many different approaches which seem to produce fantastic results.  Melody’s post is informative and funny.

Also visit the lazydyer.blogspot for a dyeing experiment and dyeing for texture tips.

Laura Wasilowski is someone who blogs at Artfabric.  Her work caught my eye because of the beautiful colours she uses.  Both her and Melody Johnson hand dye and fuse, producing stunning art quilts.  Laura also has boundless amounts of info on fabric dyeing , just click the link.

It’s endless, I’m hooked, ready to start buying fabric in bolts not yards – what fun!!  But, I think I’m going to need a 50ft shed in the garden soon soon;)  A dream…

Dianna

2 Responses to “Melody Johnson On Dyeing the Lazy Way”

  1. Barbara Harms Fiber Art November 14, 2012 at 7:13 pm #

    That’s sure true, so many art quilter dye their own fabric to attain the deep colors that they want.and isn’t available commercially.. I read an article in Quilting Arts a while ago about something called snow dying, that sounded easy enough’, But it produced a kind of design on the fabric as the snow melted and the the dye become concentrated in some areas..Sounds pretty, but I think most people want to produce a solid colored fabric with deep rich color,.don’t you?
    Freida Anderson is a good example..it seems her hand dyed deep is in rich solid fabrics, are her design signature. With so many art quilters dying their own fabric, it must be worth the effort to learn.
    I would love to take one of Ann Johnson’s small classes [ 6 to 10 people=personal attention from a real pro] .and I definitely need supervision. Who knows what kind of trouble I’d get into?.[Unfortunately the cost is a little over my budget ]. But it would be a cool experience’ that’s for sure.
    I need a little more of your fearlessness!.Can you bottle it and pass it it out?. We’d appreciate it Missy!!!!
    Barb

    • diannajessie November 16, 2012 at 10:11 am #

      Thanks Barbara:) I was really nervous to start, but the dyeing bug has truly got me now. Get yourself a good book, Helen Deihgan makes it simple to understand and although her methods definitely differ from Melody Johnson – regarding the soda ash soak, you can take what you want from it. Once you have a go there is no stopping and the outcome of the fabrics surprising and satisfying. Just Go For It;)

Leave a comment